PoleSkivvies Make A Difference Award

This post is dedicated to Bel Jeremiah of Twirly Girls Pole Fitness. I’m super sad that I couldn’t call in because of this wonderful time zone difference and my lovely non-checking of facebook until it was too late. I was at school studying and the school’s internet blocks me from facebook. :'( I know there are a lot of people out there who also hold fundraisers and give back, both in and out of the pole community, and I know I’m more than a little biased, but there is no one I can think of who deserves the PoleSkivvies Make A Difference Award more than she does. <3!

Here’s the interview!

Mama Bel, as we like to call her (because she’s honestly like a second mother to us <3), continually inspires me every day with her kindness, sincerity, generosity and above all, how strongly she believes in giving back and in helping all her students to be the best that they can be. She is easily one of the nicest people I have ever known, and I’m glad every day for the first time I walked into her studio.

At the time, I’d felt like I was stuck in a rut. I don’t have a compelling story to share about the adversities I’ve overcome thus far, because I tend to consider most of what I encounter in life as first world problems (e.g. the most current one = how I’m going to finance my medical school education–more on that at another time). Although I was still feeling completely and utterly burnt out from all the classes I’d taken in undergrad, I missed my college life and all the extra-curriculars that went with it. My life was almost completely absent of the activities I’d so loved while I was at Davis (volunteering, chamber ensembles, Tahitian, hula, salsa, archery, horseback riding, to name a few). Slaving over the classes I’d hated was slowly whittling away at me without the balance I’d found before, and the only thing that kept me at it was the belief that they were a means to an end, and that once I finished all this, I’d finally be on my way to learning the things that actually interested me/would actually apply to what I wanted to do with my life.

Twirly Girls was my refuge and gave me something to look forward to every day, no matter how sore I ended up feeling or how many bruises I obtained from learning something new and keeping at it until I got it (there definitely came a point where my mom suspected I had cancer due to the mysterious bruises that I never tried to explain). Mama Bel has garnered an amazingly supportive environment at TG that is completely absent of the cattiness that you might expect to find in a place mostly comprised of females (although we do have a Twirly Boy :D! Actually, plural.). As she said, it’s really like a family there; everyone is super encouraging, helpful, and we all genuinely care about each other. They are wonderful people to learn from/with and so much fun to be around. My friends outside TG quickly learned that if I wasn’t at home or in class, I was most likely at the studio because I basically became a fixture there over the summer and would take my books with me to study on the couch until the next class took place.

I feel like my quality of life has dipped a little since moving across the country, not because my life is terrible over here by any means, but because I can’t be there learning. You have the family you’re born with and the family you choose for yourself (your closest friends), but I feel like I left 3 families behind when I packed up my bags and moved across the country. Bel truly has a gift and I think all of us as students are incredibly blessed to have her in our lives.

I also really wish I could attend the Lovely Rita Fundraiser! <3 I missed last year’s due to the banquet in Sacramento for one of my internships, and now I’m on the east coast and unfortunately have not yet learned the powers of teleportation. ;_; If you are located in the bay area, I encourage you with every fiber of my being to attend and/or contribute!

We love you, Bel! <3

About Farrah

A frugal, selectively antisocial Family Medicine resident physician with too many interests. Loves...God, family, friends, volunteering and helping others, making others happy, music (especially piano and singing), Tahitian/hula/salsa/pole dancing, aerial silks, learning, writing, cooking, eating, sleeping, lifting weights, playing SNES and DS, photography, editing, window-shopping, gymnastics, kickboxing, BJJ, finding great deals, pyrography, horseback riding, archery, frolicking in the great outdoors...making every moment count.

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Thought and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Couldn’t have said it better, Farrah! I feel the same way. I get depressed sometimes that I live hours away and can’t be there more often. When I need a studio fix, road trip to Twirly Girls is my choice!

    • Completely understandable! :'[ I definitely go through withdrawal when I’m over here. (So many problems would be solved with the ability to teleport! :O ) I’m going to try to go back as much as humanly possible when I’m back in the summer; I hope I see you too! :] It’s been ages!

Leave a Reply

